Header Image - The home of British Drone Racing

BFPVRA Member Consultation

by Karl Eze

The BFPVRA Committee has released a post-season

questionnaire to its members. The questionnaire aims

to engage with the membership to improve British Drone

Racing ahead of another exciting season in 2018.


Emails have been sent directly to members.

Eric Li-Koo appointed as BFPVRA Technical Director

by Karl Eze


The BFPVRA commitee are pleased to announce that Eric Li-Koo will

continue in the role of Technical Director.


Eric has been instrumental in the establishment and growth of FPV racing

in the UK.  His experience will help the newly formed BFPVRA committee

to ensure that any proposed rule changes benefit the FPV racing community.


As a new committee, we will be taking a ‘hands on’ approach to the 2017

member consultation and drafting of the 2018 rule set. Eric’s role will be to

challenge any changes that are proposed, to ensure that the final rules are

both clear and in the best interests of ensuring both fair and enjoyable racing.

1st FAI World Drone Racing Championships 2018 awarded to Shenzhen

by Karl Eze

The Chinese delegate Yang Zhuogue accepting the selection of Shenzhen, China as the hosts of the 1st FAI World Drone Racing Championships from FAI President Frits Brink. Photograph Credit FAI/ Marcus King.

The 111th FAI General Conference took place in Lausanne, Switzerland this week.  The FAI, the World Air Sports Federation that is the international governing body for Drone Racing, has awarded the 1st World Drone Racing Champions to Shenzhen, China for November 2018.

The BFPVRA look forward to liaising with the FAI to ensure that the British FPV Community is represented at the event.  More information will be released, including the qualifying criteria.  Watch this space.

A New BFPVRA Committee

by Karl Eze

Following the BFPVRA Annual General Meeting held at BMFA Buckminster on Saturday the 21st October 2017,  a new committee have been voted in:

Chairman – Richard Bloxam

Secretary – Karl Eze

Treasurer – Richard Rowland

Membership Secretary – Adam Mackrory

Richard Bloxam and Karl Eze, both of whom competed in this year’s British Championship are new into the BFPVRA committee, with Richard Rowland staying on as Treasurer and Adam Mackrory formalising his role within the organisation. Additional supporting positions will be confirmed in the coming weeks.

The new committee members would like to take the opportunity to thank their predecessors and the association’s membership.  Through the hard work that has gone into the association and community from all those who participate, the British FPV community continues to be a vibrant and innovative scene; supporting some of the best drone racing talent in the world.

Now looking forward to the next year of racing, once bedded in the committee will articulate their vision.   Over the next month there will be a period of consultation with the membership in several key areas, that will assist in shaping the core business of the BFPVRA; providing first rate grassroots FPV racing.  Additionally, the sport will continue to grow, the committee will assure that British Racing is at the forefront of the international community.

Watch this space for a meet and greet with the new team.

Luke Bannister wins the British Championships

by Karl Eze

Richard Rowland (BFPVRA) presenting the winner’s trophy to Luke Bannister; photograph courtesy of Julian Whitfield.

The British FPV Racing Association hosted the British Championships at BMFA Buckminster on the 21st and 22nd of October 2017.  60 competitors from across the United Kingdom raced in testing condition, to vie for the British Drone Racing crown.  The culmination of this years racing season, that has seen over one hundred of the top FPV racers qualify from multiple BFPVRA qualifying events up and down the nation. FPV racing is going from strength to strength and the quality and skill of the competitors continues to improve.

Following two days of qualifying that seeded competitors into ten finals of six racers, Luke Bannister (BanniUK) won the British Championships for the second year.  Congratulations to him on an outstanding performance; with a further congratulations to Leo Whitfield (LeoFPV) for attaining second place and Lee Underwood (FPV Lee) for third place.

To follow more of the event, check out the BFPVRA Official Facebook Page; the detailed breakdown of results and final standings.

2017 BFPVRA British Championship

by Eric Li-Koo

We have been busy organising the various aspects of the 2017 Championship and there is still plenty left to do.

The venue has been booked and confirmed, and sponsors have been signing up to support the event through trade stands, track elements, food vendors and the usual marketing opportunities.

Invitations were sent out earlier today (check your inboxes!) to the top 60 qualifiers, and as soon as we get responses from those who do not want to compete, we’ll offer the places to the next pilots in the list.

Even if you don’t make it to the top 60, you’re welcome to come and watch. We will also be running an indoor Tiny Whoop mini-competition and the team from 3D Champs will be running a 3D heli fun fly there, making the weekend a full-on rotor-fest.

Hope to see you there!

BFPVRA Annual General Meeting

by AGM

The 2017 Annual General Meeting of the British FPV Racing Association will be held as follows:

Date: 21st October 2017
Time: 19:30 PM
Venue: BMFA Buckminster, Sewstern, Grantham, Lincolnshire, NG33 5RW

– Welcome and introduction
– Review/accept the minutes of the previous AGM (link below)
– Financial Report
– Proposals presented to Committee for inclusion at the AGM
– Election of Central Council members
– Break as votes are counted and new Committee announced
– Decide date of next AGM
– Close
– Q&A with the new Committee for those who want to stay

Notices have been sent to all members via your registered email addresses. Please check your inboxes for more details.

BFPVRA Committee

Northern Drone Racing League

by Eric Li-Koo
Northern Drone Racing League

BFPVRA recognises that running races is not easy, and we applaud the efforts of all clubs who contribute their time and effort to make races happen. In particular, we would like to acknowledge 5 of our affiliated clubs in the north of England who have joined forces to form the Northern Drone Racing League.

These clubs have agreed a relaxed version of the BFPVRA rules for their league that should make racing more accessible to club racers whilst still being fair and consistent. They will be running a series of events starting with the season opener at Wild Grove Farm in Pudsey, West Yorkshire on May 28 – check out the iFPV calendar for their other events here.

In recognition for the time and effort they have put in to organise this league, which is definitely something we would like to encourage as a way to grow the sport organically, we have reserved 3 places at this year’s British Championship for the overall winners. We hope this encourages more clubs to do the same and that we can combine what we learn from NDRL with an even more structured approach to regional racing next year!

Thanks again to Blackburn & District model aircraft club (BDMAC), Drone Racing Events, Drinkwater Park Raceway, Hull FPV and West Yorkshire FPV for pushing our sport forward!

Thank you and farewell,

by Richard Rowland

Our chairman, Thomas Greer, has had to stand down effective immediately. We would like to thank Thomas for all his work with the committee and wish him the best of luck.

An AGM will be called imminently to elect a new Chairman.

In the mean time we have appointed an interim Chairman, Brett Collis.

If you would like to offer your help and be part of the committee or a volunteer then please let us know.