Header Image - The Home Of British Drone Racing

Get Qualifying for the Team GBR F9U Drone Racing Team!

by Matthew Evans

If you weren’t aware already, a few events have been popping up in the drone racing scene that are debuting as qualifying events for a ‘team selection’ event. We’ve had a few questions regarding these events so we thought we’d clear some of that up for you.

So what is the team and what is it for?

Well, these are the Team Selection events for the Team GBR F9U Drone Racing Team which will compete in the FAI World Cup.

How many qualifying events will there be?

There will be a further 3 TS (Team Selection) events held throughout 2021, the first of which will be hosted in Hull on the 23rd of May. Details found here: https://league.ifpv.co.uk/events/169. Further TS events will be announced in due course.

How does the qualifying work?

Your best 3 of 4 events scores (based on qualifying results of said events) will go into a ranking table and they will be counted towards crowning the top pilots of the Team Selection process.

4 Events, you just said 3?

The 2019 FAI qualifying event at Barkston Heath also counts due to the 2020 F9U WDRC being postponed due to the Coronavirus Pandemic.

Does this put me at a disadvantage if I did not attend or scored badly?

No, because 3 of the 4 TS events count, you can still attend the remaining 3 events yet to be ran and become part of the the team.

Where can I find more information?

Feel free to ask us any questions you may have or you can read the ins and outs in full detail in the FAI rule book.

British Championship 2018 Results.

by Matthew Evans

Congratulations to all 59 participants who competed at the British Championships of 2018 at BMFA Buckminster. Here are the following national standings for this year, results are based on Finals for All, with the top 6 finalists competing in a 3-race final.  A massive congratulations to our new UK Champion Leo Whitfield who performed superbly all day and took home the win, as well as being the top qualifier and completing the most laps.

Here’s the complete finishing order.

1st Leo Whitfield
2nd Chris  Knight
3rd Matthew  Evans
4th Rob Saxton
5th Jonathan Rogers
6th Adam Gooch
7th Alfie Mitchell
8th Daniel Peters
9th Harry Holmes
10th Matt Brimfield
11th Karl Payne
12th Christopher Grimes
13th Jake Foreman
14th Marc  Booth
15th James Bowles
16th Alex Kubrak
17th Ben Williamson
18th Ali Barratt
19th Joe Wade
20th Luke Kirkham
21st Sean Walpole
22nd Jacob Blakemore
23rd Elliot Naseby
24th Bash Hussain
25th Rik Leigh
26th Oliver Peters
27th Tom Scott
28th Nicholas Gomez
29th Daniel Pingstone
30th Phil Brown
31st Kelsey Hunt
32nd Warren Jeffs
33rd Simon White
34th Richard Green
35th Lui Evans
36th Jonathan Timms
37th Paul Loannou
38th Joe Meehan
39th Richard Bloxam
40th Anthony Harte
41st Matthew Feast
42nd Will Mortimer
43rd Richard Norris
44th Dave Palmer
45th Steve Looker
46th William Annison
47th David Allen
48th Brian Barrett
49th Chris Grant
50th Ben Drew
51st Lee Robinson
52nd Kevin Whelan
53rd Steve Rhodes
54th Chris Morley
55th Joshua McClure
56th Matthew  Stubbs
57th Rhys Barber
58th Alex Long
59th Martin Price


Image may contain: Chris Knight, Leo Whitfield and Matthew Evans, people smiling, people standing

We hope you’ll join us next year, good luck and get practicing!